The iPads are Coming… (they’re here!)

It should come as no surprise to those who know me that: (1) I’ve had an iPad for nearly a year now, and me being me, (2) I’ve also been exploring ways to integrate it into instruction. I did my first iPad workshop on Wednesday and will also pilot an iPad project sometime before the end of the year (which I will chronicle here).

I had a fun time exploring apps to download and purchase. The full list is below (and yes, I know it’s a long list…I sort of got carried away). Of course, I’m already maintaining a running list of new apps to explore. The headings correspond to the folders I organized them into…some of which were plainly arbitrary on my part, admittedly.

Have a recommendation for me? Ideas are welcome!

Dock:

Safari

Camera

Terra

iPod

Settings

Office 2HD

Front Page:

Calendar

Google App

Google Maps

Facetime

Photo Booth

Dropbox

Skype

Evernote

iPad Tips

App Start

Polldaddy

iTunes

App Store

Mail

Good Reader

Keynote

Mobicip

Twitter

Apps in Folders:

Books:

Google Books

iBooks

Kindle

Kobo

nook

Nook Kids

Free Books

Overdrive

Reference:

Wikipanion

Dictionary

Utilities:

Contacts

Game Center

Timer

Calculator Pro

My Convert

Compass

News:

AP News

CNN

Media:

Ted Talks w/Subtitles

Brain Pop

Animoto

iMovie

Crackle

Vimeo

PBS

Story Corps

MIT Lecture Hall

You Tube

Videos

Storytelling:

Puppet Pals HD

FlipBoom Lite

Sonic Pics Lite

Flip Book Lite

Animation Studio

Strip Design

Story Pages HD

Writer’s Studio

Notes:

Blank Slate Lite

aNote Lite

UYH

Scratch Work

Penultimate

Replay Note

Notes

Music:

Garage Band

iDaft

Piano Free

Finger Drums

DJ Spooky

DJ Mixer Pro

Beatwave

Soundrop

Loop J

Vocoder Lite

Radio:

Stitcher

Sirius XM

NPR

Drawing:

Draw Free

Whiteboard

Adobe Ideas

Brushes

Voice:

iRecorder

Quick Voice

iTalk

Dragon Dictation

Brainstorming:

iBrainstorm

Mindblowing

Jot Free

Images:

Photos

PS Express

Life Magazine

Sonic Pics

Tilt Shift Generators

Lifecards

ELA:

Mad Libs

Bluster

Shakespeare

SAT Vocab

SAT Reading

Free Grammar

Wordventure!

iLibe

Instadict

Textropolis

Grammar Girl

ESL:

e-Touch Lite

iTranslate

Tap to Talk

Word Lens

ESL Beginners

Pencil Bot level 1

Health & Fitness:

Body Fitness

Fitness HD

Calorie Counter

Daily Burn

My Food

Everyday Health

Health Now

Yoga Stretch

Web MD

Math:

Math Ref Free

McGraw-Hill Fractions

Quick Graph

Khan Academy: Algebra

Touch Calc

HMH Geometry

Math Terms

Math Fractions Lite

Polar Sweep

Pocket CAS

Science:

Sky Orb

Molecules

Moon

3D Brain

SPARKvue

NASA

3D Cell Stain

Hubble Top 100

Elementals

Lab Timer

Science VL

Xperica HD

Star Walk

G

Social Studies:

Google Earth

All Countries

History Maps

Oregon Trail (free)

Geo Master US States

Civilization Revolution (lite)

National Archives

Tour Wrist

This Day

My Congress

US Constitution

Speed Geo Lite

Tap Quiz Maps

Manual for the U.S.A.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

